About Us

Our History

The Sports Turf Association, WA Incorporated, is a not-for-profit association, managed by a dedicated committee of volunteers representing all persons working in the turf industry of WA. The STA (WA) can trace it’s establishment in Western Australia to 1946, when an association of Grounds Curators and like minded turf managers regularly met at the WACA ground to discuss the development of quality sports turf surfaces in and about post war Perth.

From those humble beginnings, the Grounds Managers Association of WA (GMA) was established in the early 1980’s and primarily included Turf Managers and Grounds Maintenance personnel from the majority of Perth’s leading Sports Turf Facilities and Private Schools. Members would meet regularly throughout the year for sponsored field days and social gatherings.

In July 2000 the GMA members voted to become an incorporated association tied nationally with the Turf Grass Associations of Australia. Richard Winter, then Head Curator of wickets at the WACA ground became the inaugural President for the TGAA(WA) Inc.

At the August 2012 Annual General Meeting, following consultation with fellow Turf Grass Associations from the other states and territories in Australia, the TGAA(WA) members voted to once again change the association’s name, becoming the Sports Turf Association (WA) Incorporated.

David Miles (Events Coordinator & Baileys), Tony Guy (STA (WA) President & All Saints College), Cameron Sutherland (Programmed), Brett Sipthorpe (Environmental Industries) and Luke Harrison (MowMaster)

The current Western Australian executive committee Is:

President: Mr Tony Guy (All Saints’ College)

Vice President/Treasurer: Mr Chris Langsford,  City of Wanneroo

Secretary: Mr Richard Gainsford, McIntosh and Sons

Sponsorship and Members Coordinator: Andre Thomson from SprayMow Services

Education & Events Coordinator:David Miles from Baileys

STA Australia

On Monday 23 June 2014 the executives from each of the seven Sports Turf Association regions formally met during the 30th Australian Turfgrass Conference. At that meeting it was agreed to proceed with previously discussed plans to establish a senior executive and incorporated association to act and function as the national representative of all the state associations.

The executive commitee Sports Turf Association, Australia 2021 is:

President:    Mr Jarrod Bird (Queensland)
Vice-President:   Mr Chris Chapman (New South Wales)
Treasurer:    Mr Adrian Onvlee (Queensland)
Secretary: Mr Brad Van Dam (ACT)

Committee members:

Mr Mark Doyle (Vic)
Mr Eric Kinlon (Vic)
Mr Damien Curtis (NSW)
Mr Tony Guy (WA)
Mr Chris Langsford (WA)
Mr Chris Bale (ACT)
Mr Gerry Charlton (SA)
Mr Daimon Jones (SA)

Nationally, STA has more than 1000 members.

Affiliation & Links

The STA (WA) continues to maintain close ties with the Turf Growers Association of WA, the Golf Course Superintendents Association of WA, the Bowling Greenkeepers Association of WA, South Metropolitan TAFE as well as the national bodies of AGCSA and Turf Australia. The STA (WA) is a proud founding and active member of the Green Space Alliance WA.

The STA(WA) also maintains a committed presence on the organising committees of the National Turf Education Working Group, Green Space Alliance, Urban Users Fertiliser Working Group and the Water Corporation and Department of Water and Environmental Regulation’s major stakeholder and industry briefings and forums. Through the coordinated efforts of the WA Turf Industry Executive Officer, the STA (WA) has also developed respectful relationships with the Executive Officers and staffers of the Irrigation Australia Ltd (WA), Parks and Leisure AustraliaWA, the Landscape Industry Association WA, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architecture WA, the Horticultural Media Association WA, the Australian Institute of Horticulture, the Nursery and Garden Industry AssociationWA, the Grey Water Industry Group, the Tree Guild WA, the Urban Development Institute of WA, Josh Byrne and Associates, Urbaqua and the CRC for Water Sensitive Cities.

STA (WA) is also an active member of the national Sports Turf Association, Australia that includes the state and territory associations of ACT, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria. The STA Australia also maintains  contact with STA New Zealand with plans to initiate a relationship with Sports Turf Canada and the Sports Turf Managers Association in the USA.